The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Standard

Book 1

Novel Summation:
Twenty- four are forced to enter. Only the winner survives.
In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Each year, the districts are forced by the Capitol to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the Hunger Games, a brutal and terrifying fight to the death – televised for all of Panem to see. Survival is second nature for sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who struggles to feed her mother and younger sister by secretly hunting and gathering beyond the fences of District 12. When Katniss steps in to take the place of her sister in the Hunger Games, she knows it may be her death sentence. If she is to survive, she must weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

My Thoughts:

This novel really surprised me. The first chapter seemed really dull but I continued to read on. I soon found myself engaged in the plot and I couldn’t put the book down. I initially bought this book because I saw that it was recommended by Stephenie Meyer author of the Twilight series. I don’t normally read recommended books but I thought I would give it a chance. The premise of the story seemed really dull. I have watched countless movies based on a similar premise that a group of people are put into a competition where they must fight to survive and the whole event is televised for others enjoyment. Such movies are The Condemned, Death Race, Gamer and I am sure there are countless others. What set this book apart were the characters in it. The contestants were not convicts, which is an overused plot element in such movies but they were children that were sacrificed as a reminder that the Capitol has the power.  Another difference is this main character was a girl. Other similar plots involve a male main character. I believe if the novel was told by a male character it would take away from the depth of the novel. Not to sound sexiest.  Another thing I liked about the plot was that it left so much unanswered. Which I guess makes sense since it’s a trilogy. I assume all these questions will be hopefully answered in the books to come.

Future Books:

In case you didn’t know this is a trilogy and the next book in the series is entitled Catching Fire which came out Sept 1, 2009. 

Movie Connections:

They are currently making this into a film. I would suggest watching The Condemned or Death Race or Gamer. If you enjoyed the plot of The Hunger Games then you should enjoy the movies.

Leave a Reply

