Another Faust by Daniel and Dina Nayeri

Standard

Book 1

Novel Summation:

One night, in cities all across Europe, five children vanish – only to appear, years later, at an exclusive New York party with a strange and elegant governess. Rumor and mystery follow the Faust teenagers to the city’s most prestigious high school, where they soar to suspicious heights with the help of their benefactor’s extraordinary “gifts.” But as the students claw their way up – reading minds, erasing scenes, stopping time, stealing power, seducing with artificial beauty – they start to suffer the sideeffects of their own addictions. And as they make further deals with the devil, they uncover secrets more shocking than their most unforgivable sins. At once chilling and wickedly satirical, this contemporary reimagining of the Faustian bargain is a compelling tale of ambition, consequences, and ultimate redemption.

My Thoughts:

I spent a lot of time at the beginning of this book trying to match the character, with the power, with the models on the cover of the book (which I hate when books have pictures of the character(s) on the cover). Also I didn’t agree with the models used to portray the character. For me it didn’t fit which is another reason why I struggled with narrowing down characters. I got it eventually though. This book was enjoyable. There was never a moment where I wasn’t interested and I was always trying to figure out what was going on. I kind of found it difficult to read at some times because whenever a character entered a scene the narration would change to them and at some point a narration would be occurring and come from none of the characters. My opinions on characters would constantly change. I would like them one minute and then be dissapointed with them a minute later.  I grew to really like Valentin, though I would be dissapointed with some of his actions and by the end of the book I didn’t care much for him at all. Also two of the characters seemed to phase out at the end of the book, and many characters were over emphasized throughout the book and then others would have a single moment of emphasis. This book also left a lot unexplained. Perhaps there will be a future book to answer these questions but I doubt it and I don’t think it would be suitable to make another book. Although, another book with a similar concept would be ok. A question raised during the book was: what would you sell your soul for? To be honest, there are so many things I want that I couldn’t possibly decide on one thing and also I find the idea of selling my soul bad. Anyways I wouldn’t really recommend this book. Even though it was interesting and written well its kind of a disappointment.

Future Book:

The next companion book is Another Faust

Leave a Reply

