Leviathan by Scott Westerfield

Standard

Book 1

Novel Summation:

It is the cusp of World War I, and all the European powers are arming up. The Austro-Hungarians and Germans have their Clankers, steam-driven iron machines loaded with guns and ammunition. The British Darwinists employ fabricated animals as their weaponry. Their Leviathan is a whale airship, and the most masterful beast in the British fleet.  Aleksandar Ferdinand, prince of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, is on the run. His own people have turned on him. His title is worthless. All he has is a battle-torn Stormwalker and a loyal crew of men. Deryn Sharp is a commoner, a girl disguised as a boy in the British Air Service. She”s a brilliant airman. But her secret is in constant danger of being discovered. With the Great War brewing, Alek”s and Deryn”s paths cross in the most unexpected way…taking them both aboard the Leviathan on a fantastical, around-the-world adventure. One that will change both their lives forever

My Thoughts:

I have to say I really loved this book. It was clever, intriguing and it had enjoyable characters. In a lot of books and movie the characters don’t seem to act their age but I found that the characters actions and throughts suited their age perfectly. The characters would rise to the occassion and were always surprising me. I am pleased with the fact that Deryn Sharp’s secret wasn’t found out by the end of the book. I thought this was a good thing to do because it will give a lot more to work with in the rest of the series. Also the development of romance seems to be looming on the horizon. The book provided an interesting spin on World War 1 and I personally don’t find WW1 books common so it was a real treat for a change in story. The book combined fantasy with science, with history and was enjoyable. The author, Scott Westerfield was at a local chapters by where I live but I was unable to go see him. I really regret that and would have liked his autograph. There is artwork in the book which was an initial shock for me as I wasn’t expecting it. I did a little research and discovered that it was done to make it look like the book was published in 1914. I find the illustrations of the fabricated animals remarkable but I don’t find that the characters match my thoughts on what they looked like. I would also like to say I love the titles of the books in the series so far. I would recommend this book to all.

Future Books:

In case you didn’t know the next book in the series is entitled Behemoth and is coming out October 2010.

One response »

Leave a Reply

