Beastly by Alex Flinn

Standard
 

Novel Summation:

A beast. Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright-a creature with fangs and claws and hair springing from every pore. I am a monster.
You think I’m talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It’s no deformity, no disease. And I’ll stay this way forever-ruined-unless I can break the spell.
Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I’ll tell you. I’ll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I’ll tell you how I became perfectly . . . beastly.

My Thoughts:

Such a cute book. This book is perfect for all those romantics out there or all those who are in love with the classic Beauty and the Beast. Beastly is a modern day spin on Beauty and the Beast told from the Beasts point of view. I thought the book was brilliant, well written, and intereting. At some points in the novel the love Kyle/Adrian felt seemed really fake and forced. I kind of felt that he only reason he loved Linda because she could break the curse. But, I guess I feel that way cause I have only ever known Beauty’s side of the story. Beauty in Beastly wasn’t the stereotypical beauty you would expect. She was an averge girl, with red hair and green eyes. What I loved about this book was if you have seen Disney’s Beauty and the Beast, Beastly includes several details from it. From the love of books, to the magic mirror, to helping the father, to the rescue, and so much more. Several other classics were referenced as well. Such as the Little Mermaid, the Frog Price, and some reminiscents of Little Red Riding Hood and Snow White. I would like to personally thank my friend for buying me this book for christmas when I could never find it in stores.  I would recommend this book to those who love the classical love story.

Movie Connections:

They are making this book a movie and it comes out July 30, 2010 for all those in the USA and Canada.  Alex Pettyfer stars as Kyle, Vanessa Hudgens stars as Linda, and Neil Patrick Harris as Will. I am not satisfied with Linda’s actor choice.

 

Leave a Reply

