The Tunnels of Blood by Darren Shan


Book 3 (Book 1: Cirque du Freak, Book 2: The Vampire’s Assistant)

Novel Summation:

Darren Shan, the Vampire’s Assistant, gets a taste of city life when he leaves the Cirque du Freak with Evra and Mr. Crepsley. At night the vampire goes about secret business, while by day Darren enjoys his freedom. But then bodies are discovered… corpses drained of blood…  the hunt for the killer is on, and Darren’s loyalties are tested to the limit as he fears the worst. One mistake and they are doomed to perish in the tunnels of blood.

My Thoughts:

This book was really good. It was most definitely better than the second and just a bit better than the first book in the saga. In this book we are introduced to a new vampire and friend of Mr. Crepsley, Gavner Purl. Through him we learn, although it is more of a brief mention of the Vampire Generals and Princes; the governing bodies of the vampire world. Also, we are introduced to another type of vampire called the Vampaneze. The Vampaneze are vampires with their own governing system, that feed off humans but find it necessary to kill the humans, compared to vampires who just take enough blood. Darren Shan continues to develop as a character. He is more accepting of his half vampire status and he becomes more courageous. The other two main characters in the book is Evra Von and Mr. Crepsley. For the first part of the book Mr. Crepsley acts very mysteriously and what he is up to is unknown. Towards the end of the book he is present but he is just in the background. An interesting revelation is revealed about Mr. Crepsley. Which I won’t spoil. Evra continues to be a good friend and acts as a support system for Darren. A new character in the book is a girl named Debbie who befriends him in the city. She sort of becomes Darren’s first girlfriend. Another new character is Murlough, a vampaneze and the one terrorizing the city. I am curious to see where adventures take Darren next. He is very theatrical and truly terrifyingly evil. I would recommend this book if you enjoyed the first two in the series.

Future Books:

The next book in the saga is book 4 Vampire Mountain. It is followed by Trials of Death, The Vampire Prince, Hunters of Dusk, Allies of Night, Killers of the Dawn, The Lake of Souls, Lord of the Shadows, and then finally Sons of Destiny.

I just discovered the saga is divided into trilogies. I thought I would share this interesting fact. The first 3=Vampire Blood, books 4 to 6= Vampire Rites, books 7 to 9= Vampire War, and books 10 to 12= Vampire Destiny.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s