The Reckoning by Kelley Armstrong

Standard

Book 3 (Book 1: The Summoning, Book 2: The Awakening)

Novel Summation:

Only two weeks ago, life was all too predictable. But that was before I saw my first ghost. Now along with my supernatural friends Tori, Derek, and Simon, I’m on the run from the Edison Group, which genetically altered us as part of their sinister experiment. We’re hiding in a safe house that might not be as safe as it seems. We’ll be gone soon anyway, back to rescue those we’d left behind and take out the Edison Group . . . or so we hope.

My Thoughts:

I love this trilogy. As soon as I bought this book I had to read it and I completed it within 2 days. Chloe continues to harness her powers. She is able to do a lot more that just see ghosts, she is capable of summoning and raising the dead. Simon plays a little bit of a back seat in this book. Since he was a success in the experiment he isn’t really super powered. Tori exhibits her super powers as a witch. She demonstrates that she is quite powerful. Throughout the story I kept waiting for Tori to resort to her old behaviour or betray the group but she surprised me. Derek continues to fully transform into a werewolf and he eventually successfully does. A surprising love relationship between Chloe and Derek develops. Though this wasn’t much of a surprise because you could kind of see it coming in the last book. We learn a bit more about the Edison group but not much more. I really like this trilogy but I found that this book, although the main problem was resolved (rescuing those trapped by the Edison Group and destroying the Edison Group) main more questions were raised. Such as why was Chloe’s mom hanging around as a ghost? Where was Simon and Derek’s dad all this time? What will happen with that powerful male demon Chloe released? Who are the Cabal (besides being powerful sorcerers) and what will happen with them now that Chloe and the gang pissed them off? What happened with Royce and his brother? What will happen with Dr. Banks? What is the world of supernaturals like? How do the werewolves live? Also, I found it kind of unneccessary that Andrew had to die. Despite the many questions that were raised the initial problem was resolved and most will be content. I would recommend this book to all who enjoyed the first two.

Leave a Reply

