I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore








Book 1

Novel Summation:

Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you have ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books-but we are real. Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending our lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. we have lived among you without you knowing. But they know. They caught Number One in Malaysia. Number Two in England. And Number Three in Kenya. They killed them all. I am Number Four. I am next.

My Thoughts:

From what I remember about this book it was very well written. I haven’t enjoyed reading a book so much in a while. I know that’s hard to believe but the way the author writes is really well. The characters were really strong and the storyline was interesting and engaging. The whole idea of aliens escaping to earth because their own planet was overcome by a benevolent force may seem a bit redundant, especially for those who follow superhero shows but this plot was fairly refreshing. The protagonist John Smith is one of 9 children along with their one guardian each who left their planet to come to earth for a chance to one day reclaim their planet. Each of these children posses a gifts called legacies that will help them do so. What these legacies are is unique to each child. If you already saw the movie this is where the movie and books differ a bit. As John develops throughout the book he learns a lot about what happen the day his planet was taken. John’s love interest is Sarah who is sweet and his best friend is Sam. Henri is John’s guardian and plays the role of surrogate father for John. Number Six makes an appearance in the book as well. I would strongly recommend this book to everyone and even if you have seen the movie the book is a definite must read. The next book in the series focuses on Number Seven and should be really good.

Future Books:

The next book in the series is The Power of Six and is suppose to be released August 23, 2011

Movie Connections:

The film adaption of I Am Number Four has already been released to theatres. It stars Alex Pettyfer as Number Four, Diana Argon as Sarah, and Timothy Olyphant as Henri. It is pretty good adapation of the book with a couple of details changed.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s