Bitten: Women of the Otherworld by Kelley Armstrong










Book 1

Novel Summation:

Living in Toronto for a year, Elena is leading the normal life she has always dreamed of, including a stable job as a journalist and a nice apartment shared with her boyfriend. As the lone female werewolf in existence, only her secret midnight prowls and her occasional inhuman cravings set her apart. Just one year ago, life was very different. Adopted by the Pack when bitten, Elena had spent years struggling with her resentment at having her life stolen away. Torn between two worlds, and overwhelmed by the new passions coursing through her body, her only option for control was to deny her awakening needs and escape. But now the Pack has called Elena home to help them fight an alliance of renegade werewolves who are bent on exposing and annihilating the Pack. And although Elena is obliged to rejoin her “family,” she vows not to be swept up in Pack life again, no matter how natural it might feel. She has made her choice. Trouble is, she’s increasingly uncertain if it’s the right one.

My Thoughts:

I absolutely loved this book. There isn’t many werewolf books out there and this book certainly brought werewolves back into the reading world. This book is for a more mature reading group as it has some sex scenes in it. The main character in the book is Elena the only female werewolf in existence. She left her pack in order to leave life as a human but she realizes she can’t ignore her wolf side. Her pack calls her back in order to help them with a threat to their pack. As Elena goes back she realizes just how much she misses that world and how much she can’t ignore it anymore. Elena really grows in the book. In particular she learns to accept who she is and what she is. She could be frustrating at times but the answers  to what she wanted was so obvious that she didn’t see it. The book is really well written. Lots of history and details about werewolves are given and it’s a non stop read. The ending was a bit anticlimactic it kind of plateaued but it was still good. There is both lots of action and romance in the book which was balanced out very nice. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone who enjoys an awesome read.

Future Books:

This book is a part of the Women of the Otherworld series which looks at a variety of supernatural beings from witches to vampires to shamans to demons and more. Elena and the pack return in a few of the books. I believe you have the read the books in order to understand character references but you may not. I’m only on the second book of the series now. Here are the books in the series Stolen, Dime Store Magic, Industrial Magic, Haunted, Broken, No Humans Involved, Personal Demon, Living with the Dead, Frostbitten, and Waking the Witch. Elena narrates Stolen, Broken, and Frostbitten.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s