Prophecy of the Sisters by Michelle Zink

Standard

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Book 1

Novel Summation:

An ancient prophecy divides two sisters–one good, one evil. Who will prevail? Twin sisters Lia and Alice Milthorpe have just become orphans. They have also become enemies. As they discover their roles in a prophecy that has turned generations of sisters against each other, they find themselves entangled in a mystery that involves a tattoo-like mark, their parents’ deaths, a boy, a book, and a lifetime of secrets.

My Thoughts:

I thought this book was written very well. The book is set in 1890 and the way the book is written makes you feel like you really are there during that time. While I was reading the book I started to want to talk like they did. I wouldn’t say the characters of the book are very strong. The book involves the typical story one good twin and one bad twin. However, there is a twist to it all. As Lia tries to figure out her place in the prophecy her sister, Alice is already taking her sister on. The whole prophecy is very confusing but the characters seem to work it out pretty fast. I didn’t like how Lia seemed to involve pretty much everyone in the prophecy. Lia doesn’t mind using strangers for help for the prophecy but she won’t involve her boyfriend James. I think that decision could really hurt her in the end. I understand her reasons but it is common sense that if you keep secrets and push people away they will just leave. Don’t worry I’m not spoiling anything, just my opinion. The protagonist of the book is one of the twins, Lia. To me she didn’t really grow much. She sort of just went with the flow and did what was natural to her. I guess in that sense she was very honest to herself. She would do a lot of illogical things. For instance her sister is clearly against her and will do anything to defeat her yet she treats her the exact same way. I think this mindset is a little ridiculous but I guess Lia sees something in Alice. This may be the fault of the way the book is written. We don’t see Alice’s thoughts so we don’t know if there is anything good. The book certainly doesn’t show signs but Lia seems to see them. The supporting characters are Sonia and Luisa. They both will play an important role in the series but they didn’t do much in this book except stand on the sidelines. Alice, Lia twin and I don’t really count this as a spoiler but yes she is the “evil” one, you feel sorry for her at times but those moments are few.  The characters seem to accept things very casually which didn’t seem realistic at times. Overall I would recommend this book for those that like a good story and I think the series has real potential.

Future Books:

The next book is Guardian of the Gate, followed by Circle of Fire which comes out August 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

