The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan










Book 2 (Book 1: The Lost Hero)

Novel Summation:

Percy Jackson, son of Poseidon,  god of the Sea, has woken from a very deep sleep and come face to face with two snake-haired ladies who refuse to die. But they’re the least of his problems because Percy finds himself at a camp for half-bloods, which doesn’t ring any bells for him. There’s just one name he remembers from his past, Annabeth Only one thing is certain – Percy’s questing days aren’t over. He and fellow demigods Frank and Hazel must face the most important quest of all: the Prophecy of Seven. If they fail, it’s not just their camp at risk. Percy’s old life, the gods, and the entire world might be destroyed.

My Thoughts:

I love this book series so much. Rick Riordan is an excellent story-teller. He has been criticized for having a juvenile writing style and I agree it is but the book is intended for children and teens so its perfect for them. The dialogue is completely believable. I can see how teens would talk like that. The cast of characters is incredibly diverse so it makes everyone feel that they too can be a hero. At first when Riordan started The Heroes of Olympus series I didn’t like how each character would narrate a couple of chapters. However, I’m starting to enjoy the different perspectives. I really like how Riordan has made each of the known children of the prophecy have their own importance and gifts. It’s no longer just one power house but many and each of the demi gods has their own skills, strengths, and weaknesses. A lot of character development happens with the characters and its an amazing journey to follow. I’m really glad Percy is back and is back being the hero that he is. New characters appear at Camp Jupiter, the Roman demi god camp. Two main characters are Hazel and Frank and they were really entertaining characters to follow. Camp Jupiter has its own unique camp life and characters which was a nice change. I look forward to the future of the two camps. I definitely recommend this book and series to all.

Future Books:

The next book in the series is called The Mark of Athena coming out 2012.

My Character:

This is the character that I created for the Percy Jackson series


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s