You Against Me by Jenny Downham

Standard

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Novel Summation:

If someone hurts your sister and you’re any kind of man, you seek revenge. If your brother’s accused of a terrible crime but says he didn’t do it, you defend him. When Mikey’s sister claims a boy assaulted her, his world begins to fall apart. When Ellie”s brother is charged with the offense, her world begins to unravel. When Mikey and Ellie meet, two worlds collide.

My Thoughts:

I read this book awhile ago so this section will be short. This book was interesting. It was an ultimate test of loyalty. Both characters struggled with doing what’s right and doing what is in the heart. I think Ellie wasn’t your typically strong main character. She wasn’t too courageous but I think this made her more realistic. I think she was a character that normal people could relate to. She was the type of person anyone could find themselves being. I didn’t really like that in the beginning everything seemed to be pretty miserable for both families and then at the end one family seemed to be doing significantly better than the other family. I know realistically one side would be worse off but it was a bit sad that it wasn’t the typical happy ending story. Also, I would have like to have seen the outcome of the trial but I know this would have taken away from Ellie and Mikey’s relationship and the message of the story. I would recommend this book to those who aren’t the biggest fantasy fans and enjoy a good read.

Leave a Reply

