The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Standard

The Name of the Star

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Book 1

Novel Summation:

The day Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London marks a memorable occasion. For Rory, it’s the start of a new life at a London boarding school. But for many, this will be remembered as the day a series of brutal murders broke out across the city, gruesome crimes mimicking the horrific Jack the Ripper events of more than a century ago. Soon “Rippermania” takes hold of modern-day London, and the police are left with few leads and no witnesses. Except one. Rory spotted the man police believe to be the prime suspect. But she is the only one who saw him. Even her roommate, who was walking with her at the time, didn’t notice the mysterious man. So why can only Rory see him? And more urgently, why has Rory become his next target? In this edge-of-your-seat thriller, full of suspense, humor, and romance, Rory will learn the truth about the secret ghost police of London and discover her own shocking abilities

My Thoughts:

This is a pretty decent book. First off there were a lot of things I liked about the book and a lot of things I didn’t like. I didn’t like how much detail was given. I’m the type of person who glosses over detail scenes but I know others might enjoy the details in order to get a better picture. For me I usually take the actions and what people say as an  idea of what is going on. Another thing I didn’t think was all the supporting characters. All of them were boring and had really annoying traits. Rory herself was an okay character and could be very funny at times. However, by the end of the book I wasn’t sure if I actually got to know Rory as a character. The worst part for me was the romance. There was none and the romance that was there was pathetic. It was like the author didn’t want romance in the book at all but she knew she had to so she put forth a really lame attempt to include it. The book was very anti climatic and had little action. What I did like about the book was how much time and research was spent on studying Jack the Ripper. I found the whole storyline that revolved around Jack the Ripper to be the best part of the book. The whole secret ghost police was an interesting concept that was explained but I think it could have been introduced and developed a lot better so that you understood the society more. This might be explained more in future books. Also, the book ended with a really interesting twist. I would recommend this story if you like a good serial killer read.

Future Books:

The next book is called The Madness Underneath and comes out February 26, 2013.

Leave a Reply

