Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Standard

Clockwork Princess

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Book 3 (Book 1: Clockwork Angel, Book 2: Clockwork Prince)

Novel Summation:

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy? Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.

My Thoughts:

I read this book awhile ago so these are the thoughts I remember. Beware of spoilers. I’ve never read anything more beautifully written, much swooning and crying was done. I have nothing but praise for this book but I do have some minor comments. First Tessa, I think I can completely understand her mixed feelings and how she could love two men (I’m writing my own story with similar problems). She might not be the most athletic and impressive heroine but she had her own strengths which was her unfaltering love. I never expected Tessa to be half demon and half shadowhunter. My guess was that she was a clockwork creation herself but I really did like this twist and I wonder if it has any influence on Valentine’s behaviour in the mortal instruments. Now Jem, Jem is the sweetest most beautiful fictional character I have read about. I was surprised by Jem really being Brother Zachariah but his “death” seemed so anti climatic that I didn’t think Jem was really dead. I can’t wait to find out how Jem got back to normal and it was really interesting to see him in the present day time and not sick. Will was also sweet and you always secretly rooted for him. Now the love triangle. I found the ending with Will and Tessa being together and then Tessa and Jem getting to be together in the epilogue to be a bit of a cop out but the whole love triangle made me believe so strongly in love. It was nice that love couldn’t be denied by any obstacles and everyone was happy in the end. I wish that Jem and Tessa got to be more together and express their feelings like Will and Tessa did. Not only was the love triangle beautiful but the bromance between Will and Jem was wonderful.  I missed the old Jem and Will dynamic that was so strong in the first two books and I didn’t like how Jem was sick this whole book. There wasn’t much plot to the book but more of character development which was nice but also a little disappointing. The many narratives were a bit confusing at times and I found myself wanting to know what was happening with particular individuals rather than other people’s stories. Mortmain wasn’t much of a villain and I found him boring at times but his creations were cool, especially the demon infused clockwork creations. Also, I am so appreciative of the family trees in the 1st edition book which I only just discovered (it’s in the flap of the cover).  I recommend this series for the beautiful writing, world, and for so much more.

Leave a Reply

