Goddess by Josephine Angelini

Standard

Goddess

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Book 3 (Book 1: Starcrossed, Book 2: Dreamless)

Novel Summation:

After accidentally unleashing the gods from their captivity on Olympus, Helen must find a way to re-imprison them without starting a devastating war. But the gods are angry, and their thirst for blood already has a body count. To make matters worse, the Oracle reveals that a diabolical Tyrant is lurking among them, which drives a wedge between the once-solid group of friends. As the gods use the Scions against one another, Lucas’s life hangs in the balance. Still unsure whether she loves him or Orion, Helen is forced to make a terrifying decision, for war is coming to her shores.

My Thoughts:

I love this book so much. Mostly for the wonderful way Greek mythology is incorporated, in particular the Iliad. This book takes us through the whole Trojan war essentially and we get to connect which character is who from Troy as well as some other timelines. We got to see Helen and Lucas as Guinevere and Lancelot and I would have loved to see them in other roles as well but only Helen and Paris and that role were described. A lot of the book is spent with Helen having memories of the original Helen and of the fall of Troy which sort of gave the current situation and the characters context but I wonder if this couldn’t have been included in either of the other two previous books. I will admit at first I couldn’t remember character personalities well since it’s been awhile since I read the previous book but I eventually got right back into it. I couldn’t remember much about Matt’s character, yet he had a critical part to play in this book. Jason and Ariadne also seemed sidelined in this book. I like Orion and you really relate to him as a character. He wants to be someones first choice and I think everyone can relate to that (he puts in a lot more eloquently). Hector is his usual self and I absolutely adore him. Lucas didn’t do too much in this book but his decision towards the end of the novel was surprising and maybe a bit hasty. Helen grew as a character and I really like her. I didn’t like the fact that she became goddess like and felt that she was way too overpowered. The idea of a Worldbuilder was neat and I liked how it connected with Hades, Morpheus, and Zeus but I wasn’t sure if I liked how it played out in the book. Also, the fact that no one could figure out who the Tyrant was when it seemed incredible obvious was frustrating. I liked the idea that their was a Scion for each god and the concept that the cycle needed to be replaced (Titans defeated their parents, Gods defeated their Titan parents, now Scions should defeat their God parents, something I’ve thought about in my Percy Jackson fan fiction). I was sort of looking forward to more gods involved in this story and more of a battle but sadly there wasn’t much. It was very much a Helen character journey which was enjoyable. I definitely recommend this series.

Leave a Reply

