Dance of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin

Standard

Dance of the Red Death

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Book 2 (Book 1: Masque of the Red Death)

Novel Summation:

In Dance of the Red Death, Araby’s world is in shambles—betrayal, death, disease, and evil forces surround her. She has no one to trust. But she finds herself and discovers that she will fight for the people she loves, and for her city. Her revenge will take place at the menacing masked ball, though it could destroy her and everyone she loves…or it could turn her into a hero.

My Thoughts:

So this book wasn’t as good as the first one. The characters go on many adventures in this book in an effort to save the city from two diseases: the original weeping sickness which the people wear masks for and the red death, a new disease with no known preventative measures. So I had some qualms with the characters in this book. Araby didn’t bother me too much and I liked how she stepping up in heroics and took action herself. April still continued to be annoying and I don’t like her at all. I don’t think she adds anything as a supporting character. Will, who I liked in the first book, was not very memorable in this book. Elliott was the same as he was in the first book and I find that his the most honest character because he doesn’t try to be something he’s not and he doesn’t deny that he’s a bad guy. I wanted Elliott to be less of a jerk. I really wanted Araby to be with Elliott and was very disappointed with how the romance in this book went at the end. The ending itself was kind of anticlimactic for me and I felt that everything was rushed at the end. I did like the reference to Edgar Allan Poe’s Masque of the Red Death, in particular the house scene with all the different rooms. I would recommend this book because the series is written in a very visual way and it’s unique.

Future Books:

There is an electronic novella called Glitter & Doom and it is about April.

Leave a Reply

